Banner Christian School    |   1501 South Providence Road, North Chesterfield, VA 23236-4435   |   Phone: (804) 276-5200

 

Banner Christian School

Banner Christian School Home

RESOURCES

ABOUT US

PICTURE DAY IS APRIL 5TH, SO LOOK YOUR BEST!

Search our site:

Are you interested in Banner Christian School? Watch our video.
Mission Statement Banner Christian School is a K-12 program that is consistent with the Word of God. Considering paramount every child’s academic, emotional, physical, social and spiritual needs, Banner Christian School is dedicated to developing and educating the whole person to the glory of God. Philosophy of Ministry - Statement of Faith The general nature and object of Banner Christian School shall be: To conduct an institution or institutions of learning for the general education of youth in the essentials of culture and its arts and science, giving special emphasis to the Christian faith and the ethic revealed in the Holy Scripture; To prepare young people academically and spiritually to contribute to society; and To affirm and teach the divine inspiration of the entire Bible, the creation of man by the direct act of God, the incarnation and virgin birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, His identification as the Son of God, His vicarious atonement for our sins by the shedding of His blood on the cross, the resurrection of His body from the tomb, His power to save mankind from sin, the new birth through the regeneration by the Holy Spirit, the gift of eternal life by the grace of God, the second coming of our Lord, the resurrection of the living and the dead, and the final judgment of all mankind.

Staff Directory

Senior Administrators

Dr. Thomas Burkett

Head of School

B.S. Liberty University

M.B.A. Averett University

Ph. D. Columbia International University

tburkett@bannerchristian.org

Patti Burkett

Upper School Principal

B.S. Radford University

M.Ed. Liberty University

pburkett@bannerchristian.org

Kathy Ivill

Lower School Principal

B.S. University of Tulsa

M.Ed. Liberty University

kivill@bannerchristian.org

Travis L. Moore

Middle School Principal

B.A. Virginia Commonwealth University

M.Ed. Liberty University

tmoore@bannerchristian.org

Administrators

Paul Ivill

Athletics Coordinator

B.S. Elon College

pivill@bannerchristian.org

Brandon Murrell

IT Coordinator

B.S. Virginia Commonwealth University

M.A. Concordia University

bmurrell@bannerchristian.org

Stephen Wolf

Director of Marketing and Finance

B.S. James Madison University

M.A. Virginia Commonwealth University

swolf@bannerchristian.org

Barbi de Haas

Assistant Principal

B.A. University of Virginia Psychology

M.S.W. Virginia Commonwealth University

bdehaas@bannerchristian.org

Support Staff

Demetria Heatwole

Discovery Therapist

B.A. Marshall University

dheatwole@bannerchristian.org

Holli Blake

Annette Cupp

Office Manager

B.S.W. James Madison University

acupp@bannerchristian.org

Carla Irwin

Guidance Counselor

B.S. Liberty University

M.A. Virginia Commonwealth University

cirwin@bannerchristian.org

Susan Tignor

Director of Admissions

B.A. Wake Forest University

M.A. James Madison University

stignor@bannerchristian.org

Resource Teachers

Robert Baugh

Music Teacher

B.A. Virginia State University

rbaugh@bannerchristian.org

Anne Culver

Art Teacher

B.A. Sweet Briar College

aculver@bannerchristian.org

Tina Petersen

Lower School Teachers

Callie Van Horn

Kindergarten Teacher

B.S.   Longwood University

M.Ed. Nova Southeastern University

cvanhorn@bannerchristian.org

Bert Rhodes

3rd Grade Teacher

B.A. Mary Washington University

brhodes@bannerchristian.org

Angelia Higgins

1st Grade Teacher

B.S. Piedmont Bible College

ahiggins@bannerchristian.org

Charlita Jackson

4th Grade Teacher

B.A. Morgan State University

M.A. Loyola University Maryland

cjackson@bannerchristian.org

Carol Hopkins

2nd Grade Teacher

B.A. Virginia Commonwealth University

chopkins1@bannerchristian.org

Julie Burkett

5th Grade Teacher

B.S. Liberty University

jburkett@bannerchristian.org

Middle / Upper School Teachers

Jan Pace

Upper School Math

B.A. University of Richmond

jpace@bannerchristian.org

Nicholas Balducci

Middle/Upper School History

B.A. Liberty University

nbalducci@bannerchristian.org

Diane Murrell

Middle / Upper School English

B.A. Florida State University

dmurrell@bannerchristian.org

John Young

Middle / Upper School History

B.A. Bryan College

jyoung@bannerchristian.org

Pamela Arnold

Middle School Science

B.A. Florida Bible College

M.Ed Columbia International University

parnold@bannerchristian.org

William Linares

Spanish

B.A. University of Zulia

wlinares@bannerchristian.org

Rebecca Smith

Middle / Upper School History / Math

B.A. Liberty University

rsmith@bannerchristian.org

Lynne Wolfe

Upper School Science

B.A. Humanities (emphasis in science)

Pensacola Christian School

lwolfe@bannerchristian.org

Cathrine Mireles

B.A. Mississippi College

M.Ed. Virginia Commonwealth University

cmireles@bannerchristian.org

Elizabeth Dyson

Middle School English/ ESL

B.A. College of William & Mary

edyson@bannerchristian.org

Core Values

The core values of Banner Christian School are identified in four areas:  Discipleship, Scholarship, Stewardship, and Fellowship.

 

Accreditation

Banner Christian School is accredited by the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). Banner Christian School is also recognized as an accredited school by the Virginia Council for Private Education (VCPE). In June of 2007, Banner Christian School received a full seven-year accreditation from the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI). The chairman of the accreditation committee stated the following about Banner: Chairman’s Closing Remarks The team’s evaluation visit at Banner Christian School was greatly blessed by the generosity and hospitality of the entire school community. The school community met our every need. The entire school family exhibited a concerted effort toward the success of the accreditation process. The board, administration, staff, and students have developed a strong sense of family. The school family views the leadership as godly role models who display the love of Christ to the student body. This was evident as we queried parents, staff, and students about the school and its programs. The school staff had collaborated in the development of the self study, curriculum guides, and scope and sequences. Their work, completed prior to the team’s arrival, made our jobs so much easier and enjoyable. The work of the school librarian and volunteers to develop a functioning library is to be commended. The board is to be commended for ensuring the financial integrity of the school, instituting policies and procedures that are biblically-based and for the vision that has led to the acquisition of 30 acres of land debt-free. It should be noted that the relationship of Banner Christian School and Bethany Place Baptist Church is extraordinary. Never have I seen a better share relationship between a church and school in my thirty-five years of ministry. There is a spirit of unity and appreciation of ministry between the church and school that is to be commended to God’s glory. A special thanks to Mrs. Jackson for her care and hospitality in ministering to the team throughout the days we were at Banner Christian School. Her oversight of the lunches, snacks, and supplies were greatly appreciated. Rebecca Smith went far beyond the call of duty with the oversight of the curriculum guides and scope and sequences. Her work assisted the team greatly in the production of the team’s report. Special thanks to Patti and Tom Burkett for their leadership and friendship in the ministry. It has truly been a joy to work with these fine examples of Christian servants. Banner Christian School is blessed to have such godly leadership. Their work and oversight of the self study along with the faculty is to be commended. The faculty of Banner Christian School was professional and committed. Their sweet spirit and passion for their students impressed the accreditation team despite the interruptions brought to their daily schedules and the anxieties created by our observations. For a young school, Banner Christian School is far beyond its years in the caliber of teachers and the scope of its academics. It was an honor and privilege to be on campus. Banner Christian School will continue to be in our prayers. Dr. S. L. Sherrill Visiting Team Chairman April 25, 2007

Available Positions

Substitute Teacher We are seeking Christian adults who have had previous teaching experience and/or training who would like to substitute teach for Banner Christian School. Qualified candidates would be those who would follow the classroom teacher’s lesson plans, instructing and supervising the class well. Inquiries or applications for employment can be submitted to Mrs. Ivill at: kivill@bannerchristian.org .

Purchase Uniforms

Supply Lists

Medical Forms

Other Resources

CONSENT & PERMISSION FORMS